National VFW honors Voice of Democracy, Patriots Pen students

- 5/11/2022

 During the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) virtual Parade of Winners April 7, the organization proudly presented more than $211,000 in scholarships and awards as it named the national winners of its 2022 Voice of Democracy and Patriot’s Pen youth scholarship competitions in a Facebook live event sponsored by Twisted X. 

The event featured the 53 national VFW Department (state) winners.
Natalie Sissac, from Batavia, IL, represented the VFW Department of Illinois in the Voice of Democracy competition, and was awarded the $3,000 Joseph and Irene Hansen Memorial Scholarship (Maryland).
Parker Tade, from Oak Forest, IL, state Patriot's Pen champion, represented the VFW Department of Illinois, and was awarded the $750 VFW Department of Washington and Auxiliary Eric G. Sandstrom Memorial Award.

"While we weren’t able to meet in person again this year, we didn’t let that stop us from ensuring we celebrated everything this year’s winners have accomplished,” said VFW National Commander Fritz Mihelcic. "This evening’s event successfully shined the spotlight on both (national VOD winner) Daniela and all of our VFW Department (state) winners across the nation. The VFW was honored to present America’s top high school students with more than $211,000 in scholarships and awards.